Home

Venues

News & Reviews

About Us

Performers Area

Press & Media Area

Login

2019 EVENT SEARCH

 

GENRE SEARCH

 
VENUE SEARCH
 
EVENTS CALENDAR
May 2019
S M T W Th F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Jun 2019
S M T W Th F S
1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30
All Shows by Name
All Shows by Start Time

NEWS & REVIEWS

This page contains the latest news stories and reviews for our venues and shows.... so keep checking back on this page to find out what's happening, and which shows are the ones not-to-miss....

Click here to see the highest rated shows from this years reviews

April 13, 2019 Mumble Comedy
Article about Samantha Pressdee: Covered
An Interview with Samantha Pressdee
 Click Here

April 5, 2019 Byron Body & Soul
Article about Laura-Doe's Vaudeville of the Vulva
Vaudeville of the Vulva
Vaudeville of the Vulva
The Vaudeville of the Vulva is Laura Doe’s hilarious one-woman show (along with the ”vulva underground'!)centred on the vulva, the external female genitalia generally incorrectly referred to as the vagina which only pertains to the interior canal.
Starting with a very funny, cockney cleaning lady preparing the stage and the audience, Vaudeville of the Vulva is both a raunchy giggle and educational. Touching on the anatomical wonders of the female genitalia, starting with the clitoris, the only organ in humans whose sole purpose is to provide pleasure and that is much larger than merely the trigger point at the top of the vulva, the audience is taken for a brief ride through the various historical cultural mores with regards to female sexuality and its mystery.
I noticed many young female members of the audience nodded when Laura Doe spoke of how hard it is for women to even say the word vagina, even to their doctor or mother, preferring to say ‘down there’, pussy, beaver plus a plethora of other substitutes.
At one point we all stood up to heartily sing along to ‘My My My Vagina’ (to the tune of ‘My My My Delilah’), which all the men in the audience found super funny! Later ‘Do the Vulvalution’ to the tune of
‘Do the locomotion’ was also fun.
Making use of puppets and multiple costume and personality changes, Vaudeville of the Vulva is a playful and risqué presentation of the wonders of the vulva. The Indian tantric teacher, the very proper English professor, the famous French lover plus others, all with something interesting to say. The Catholic nun espousing the joys of ‘self help’ was hilarious.
A little like The Vagina Monologues that spread all around the world 10-15 years ago, but from a comedic perspective, the Vaudeville of the Vulva is a celebration of the vulva and female sexuality, excellent for men and women of all ages (post puberty) where everyone can learn something as well as laugh their way through some layers of sexual shame and ignorance. An appetite whetter extraordinaire! Click Here

March 14, 2019 Mumble Comedy
Article about Nathan Cassidy: Observational
An Interview with Nathan Cassidy
 Click Here

January 5, 2019 LH News
2019 Programme Launched
Our 2019 Programme is now live! Click Here

August 24, 2018  The Wee Review
Review of What Ever Happened To Baby Jane McDonald?
Wakefield singer and TV personality in deeply personal fringe debut
 Click Here

July 23, 2018 Broadway baby
Article about Jake Donaldson: Help! I'm Trapped In The Body Of An Adequate Comedian!
Interview With Broadway baby
 Click Here

February 26, 2018 OnePlayMore
Article about Jake Donaldson: Help! I'm Trapped In The Body Of An Adequate Comedian!
Interview With OnePlayMore
 Click Here

August 16, 2016 Huffington post
Article about Jake Donaldson: Help! I'm Trapped In The Body Of An Adequate Comedian!
Ten Must See New Acts At Edinburgh Fringe 2016
 Click Here

 

 

      

 Website Design & Development by Craig Shaynak and Alex Petty

About Us Laughing Horse Comedy Press and Media Area
Australian Festivals Google+ Edinburgh Fringe